Update: cooking, quilts, and random thoughts

Dottie

Dottie

It’s been nearly a year since I sat down to write anything. While lots of events in that time have been boring or non-fun in nature, I choose to ignore those and instead talk about the fun things.,

That little lamb in the photo is our bottle baby, Dottie.  She’s about a month old now, and we will be keeping her as a pet.
So, now the food: I’m currently taking the baking class again. So much to learn, so little time. My instructor, MaryAnn Kleinot, is an awesome pastry chef. I’ll do my best to not embarrass her.
I make bread every week, sometimes every day. I have tried lots of recipes from traditional to no-knead, and have nice things to say about them all. Finally, the other day I decided to come up with my own recipe. So far, it has a great texture and good taste. I tweak it each time to see what else I can do with it, and so far, so good. I’m keeping a bread journal so I can repeat the results and make note of any failures. I’ll post the recipe very soon.
I’m also working to perfect my petit fours and decorating skills. I’ll be posting some pics of those efforts, too.

Quilts: although I have been spending most of my quilting time in the kitchen (not quilting), I have been working on several projects in my head. I am going to spring into action & complete one of them next month, if only to reassure myself that it can be done.

On dogs: Last year, two of our old girls passed on, and we went to the Humane Society of the Ouachitas and adopted an enormous eight year old Lab named Nelly. She’s an awesome dog, very sweet, and is most smitten with my husband. (I think she has very good taste in men.) I can go on and on about the pleasures of senior dogs, but the best thing I can tell you is, “Go get one!” If you like dogs but cannot commit to adopting one, then find a nice rescue group and volunteer. You will meet some new friends, both of the four-legged and two-legged variety, and trust me when I tell you, they will be worthy companions.
Well, it’s time to go check on today’s bread. Check in again soon for recipes and pics.

~ by k9dancer on March 28, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
