Father’s Day Fare

Since my Dad has more stuff than he wants or needs, I figured I’d make him dinner for today.  On the menu are Garlic & Herb Pork Loin, Smashed Potatoes, Potato Water Bread, and Paula Deen’s Bread Pudding, topped with Cream Anglaise.

I adapted one of James Beard’s recipes from” Beard on Bread,” just making a few changes. Here is my version:

Potato Water Bread

Potato Water Bread

Potato Water White Bread based on James Beard’s Basic White Bread

1 2/3 cups warm potato water with as much of the potato starch as possible

2 ¼ tsp instant yeast (any yeast will do)

2 tsp sugar

3 ½ to 4 cups AP flour

2 tsp salt

Place the yeast in a medium bowl with the sugar and about a cup of the warm potato water.  Allow to proof 10 mins or as necessary.

Put 3 ½ cups of the flour in bowl of stand mixer fitted with paddle.  Add the balance of the potato water and begin to mix.  Add the yeast mixture and finally the salt.  Mix until the dough comes together (you can add more water or flour if you need to)  and then remove to a lightly floured board and knead for a few minutes.  The extra half cup of flour is to use on the board if you still have some left.

Form dough into a ball and place in a greased bowl, turning to grease the top of the dough.  Cover and place in cold oven on middle rack.  Place a pan of boiling water underneath, on the rack below.  Allow to rise until doubled, which may take 40 to 90 minutes.

Turn out onto floured board, knead and shape into one large or 2 small loaves.  I prefer one loaf from this recipe.  Place your loaf in a well greased pan or let it take a free form shape on a cookie sheet.

Cover with a towel, place over a pan of steaming water, and allow to rise until doubled.

Spritz top of loaf with water before placing in oven.

Bake at 375F for 20-40 mins until internal temp is between 190-210⁰F;  200⁰ is ideal.

This was the best bread of the week.  It’s a country style, chewy without being tough, and having a crust somewhat like a french loaf.  The potato water really makes a difference, as does the reduction of the salt in JB’s recipe from 1 tablespoon to 2 teaspoons.  Note that I do salt my potatoes when I boil them, so some of that salt remains in the water.  Another thing that makes a big difference, and I do not know why, is that I add the salt gradually, at the last minute.  Sometimes I add the salt as I am kneading on the bread board.  It seems that the later I add it, the better the texture of the bread.  Maybe Alton Brown can explain it;  all I know is that it works for me.

~ by k9dancer on June 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
