Bread today

Since the potato bread was so good, it vanished quickly.  Today I made another Beard on Bread recipe, Basic Home-Style Bread.  I reduced the salt from one tablespoon to 2 1/4 teaspoons, and as usual, I let it rise with a pan of hot water underneath.  With the reduced salt and the steam, the rising times are shortened.  I did attempt to slash one of the tops;  my usual knife for this did not slash the surface, and rather just deflated the loaf.  I left the second one alone and sprayed both with water instead of the egg wash before placing in a 400F oven.  The loaves baked in a record 18 minutes to an internal temp of 200F.  Had I left them in for the recommended 40-45 minutes, there would have been only cinders. I  sliced the deflated loaf to find a nice crumb and flavor.  Definitely worth making again.

~ by k9dancer on May 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
